The Dominican Order has strong democratic roots going back to the time of Dominic. Every six years, the Adrian Dominican Sisters hold a “General Chapter” during which the Sisters make decisions that set the future direction for the Congregation. At that time, they also elect leaders to carry out the Chapter mandates.


General Council

The Congregation is led by a Prioress (“president”) and General Council, which includes a Vicaress (“vice president”), Administrator, and two other Councilors. Our current General Council was elected in 2016 and will serve through June of 2022.



Left to right: Frances Nadolny, OP, Administrator; Patricia Harvat, OP, General Councilor;
Patricia Siemen, OP, Prioress; Mary Margaret Pachucki, OP, Vicaress;
Elise García, OP, General Councilor.



Leadership Council

Another group of leaders—Sisters elected regionally to serve as “Chapter Prioresses”—join the General Council three times a year, forming the Leadership Council. Currently, eight Sisters serve as Chapter Prioresses; the Leadership Council also includes a Sister who serves as the appointed leader of Sisters who are no longer able to participate in governance, and the Secretary of the Congregation.


Leadership Council July 2016

Members of the 2016-2017 Leadership Council are, standing, from left: Sisters Mary Margaret Pachucki, OP; Kathleen Klingen, OP; Patricia Siemen, OP, Prioress; Mary Ann Caulfield, OP; Carol Jean Kesterke, OP; Mary Jane Lubinski, OP; Maria Goretti Browne, OP; and Zenaida S. Nacpil, OP. Seated, from left: Sisters Marie Joy Finfera, OP; Lorene Heck, OP; Patricia Dulka, OP; Helen Sohn, OP; Patricia Harvat, OP; Frances Nadolny, OP; and Elise D. García, OP.